I disagree with your ruling. The opponent would not have the right to use Trap Hole until the turn player either uses priority or passes it.
Originally Posted by pegasus
But you are right that in reality, players generally do not announce this. If no priority switch was announced and the turn player clarified this, the judge would have to rule on the side of the turn player. The game is priority-based, not time-based, so if the player objects to the opponent seizing priority, the assumption must be that priority has not yet passed.
In the example above, the opponent was stupidly showing the turn player that he or she had a Trap Hole. The turn player has every right to say, "Hold on, don't be so quick, I wanted to use its effect!" because he has not yet passed priority.
"No single preposition can describe what is going on in there."
- A person from a dream I had once